Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#76208 Jun 25th, 2007 at 02:42 PM
Alys Offline OP
OP Offline
Hallo!

I'm a newbie here and also have just become a new resident of Orlando. I'm in an apartment, and have just started up my balcony garden. I have, once again, come up against the bane of my existance: When the soil in the planters starts to dry out it pulls away from the sides of the pot. Then when I try to water the plant, the water runs right down the side of the pot and out the bottom without getting the soil wet. At home in Toronto this was really not a problem I came up against all that often, but darn it, it's HOT here and the soil in my hanging vincas dried out in 2 days! Note: hanging. Picture it, me on my tiptoes UNDER the planter, when, SURPRISE! The water has run straight out the bottom.

I got out my ladder and brought the plants down and gave them a soak in the sink, so now they're moist again. My question is: should I water daily to keep the soil moist or should I let it dry out some and then stuff soil down the sides? Ultimately, I don't want to have to pull down the hanging baskets every week to re-inflate the soil!

Your advice is highly anticipated!

California Queen
30k Posts
California Queen
30k Posts
Yes, It sounds like you need to water more often. As often as it needs to not dry out. I live in dry semi-desert Ca and need to water daily also. It is the price you pay for having a generally great climate.

~Tina
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Drama Free Zone.
What every gardener loves the most, Begins and ends in rich compost. (Tina)
you can buy a plastic tip for a large pop bottle that will allow a drip to water the plant over an extended period (lee valley sells them) http://www.leevalley.com/garden/page.aspx?c=2&p=10408&cat=2,2280,54307&ap=1
also if you pack the plant with sphagnum moss it will absorb water and keep the soil moist for a longer period

Last edited by dan@modernblacksmith; Jun 25th, 2007 at 04:40 PM.