Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#377895 Oct 21st, 2013 at 05:18 AM
tardis Offline OP
OP Offline
I've had this plant since it was bitty and for the past year it's done really well, every day has been a new leaf.

The past month or so though it's been looking sad, limp and no new growth. The leaves have all turned brown at the tips too frown

I noticed when I water it, the water would just run straight through and it has been in it's small pot for a while, so I thought it could use a bigger pot and moved it on Friday.

when I took it out of it's pot there was no excess soil, just coiled roots in the shape of the pot.

It has since perked up and is no longer limp in it's new pot. I noticed one small new leaf (very small).

Is my plant ok? Should I be doing anything else different?

I know it's stupid, but I really like this plant. I have no idea what it is, but it's pretty and my son and I have enjoyed watching it grow.

[Linked Image]
(sorry I am not very tech savvy, not sure if I posted the picture right)

tardis #377960 Oct 25th, 2013 at 09:22 AM
Hot Rod
20k Posts
Hot Rod
20k Posts
Wondering if it is a shade Lover?

I am thinking Prayer plant.. Not sure tho.

Lots of those types are shade lovers.

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
PS... My horse isn't here, this is my Nitemare..
dodge #377961 Oct 25th, 2013 at 11:05 AM
Frogger
40k Posts
Online Happy
Frogger
40k Posts
Yes, I think this is a variety of a prayer plant.
I do not think your plant is dying, not at all...

you were right to repot it, as these plants like to be repotted every spring with fresh soil. The best soil is a mix of 2 parts peat moss, 1 part loam & 1 part perlite or coarse sand. This mix will help the plant retain water.
(I will say my prayer plant, that is a differnt variety than yours, is in Miracle Grow potting soil and it seems to like it just fine.)