Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
OP Offline
Hello, this is my first post and I'm really a garden newbie. Thanks in advance from those more experienced than I......That should include everyone.

Our new landscaping was installed about 2 years ago, and the silver sheen pictured almost doubled in size since it was planted. Now, it doesn't look as healthy and isn't as bushy as before. We like lots of foilage for privacy.

Please have a look at the pictures and let me know if there are any recommendations to help them.

I fertilized them with three shrub spike hammered in at the tree line about 5 months ago.

They are watered two times week.

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
Many Thanks,
Tom

Last edited by Tom Perazzo; Jul 15th, 2013 at 02:17 PM.
California Queen
30k Posts
California Queen
30k Posts
Welcome, Tom. Pittosporum, after established, need less water. During the summer 2 times a month very deep watering. Once a month in our wetter seasons. They are subject to root rot if they get too much like you would do for a lawn or even those lovely roses you have in front of them.
I would let yours dry out for a while and also trim them back to a couple of feet above your wall. They will put less energy into trying to recover the dying tops and more into new,fresh growth. Hopefully they will recover and again screen you from your neighbors.
Good luck.

~Tina
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Drama Free Zone.
What every gardener loves the most, Begins and ends in rich compost. (Tina)
OP Offline
Thanks Tina for your nice reply.

I probed around the surrounding soil and found it very dry. Only some moisture was evident near the water bubbler which is off to the side of each tree.

Some of the brown leaves are crunchy.

While I don't know for sure if its a root rot problem or not, I also suspect that it may be underwatered.

I will trim the tops as you suggested and change the watering as you also suggested.