Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#372239 Jun 30th, 2013 at 11:39 PM
spunky1 Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi All,

I just joined this forum and am so excited! Does anyone else here care for a night-blooming jasmine plant?

I just bought one and love it. It doesn't have flowers yet. I am new to plant care and am trying to learn to do everything right by Ms. Jasmine :).

So she kept getting yellow leaves when she was in our a/c house in Michigan for the first week. I googled around but couldn't figure out why this was. I wasn't overwatering I don't think (I'd water but then let it drain in the sink), didn't get the leaves wet, was using filtered water, etc. Any ideas?

Just an FYI for whatever reason- I just gave her some bloom booster the other day, as I can't wait for those flowers!

So I also just moved her outside two days ago because I hear they love the summer humidity. She looks great so far- the leaves have gotten glossy! But, the leaves have already gotten holes eaten in them, and I found an aphid on one of them. Is that a sign that I should move the plant back inside? Will aphids destroy my girl? Or should I just spray water on them when I see them, to remove them, and otherwise not worry about it?

Thank you so much for any tips. I know this is a bit of a rare plant in this country, but I'm hoping there might be a couple enthusiasts out there!

Best,
Dee

spunky1 #372244 Jul 1st, 2013 at 01:37 AM
California Queen
30k Posts
California Queen
30k Posts
Welcome Dee. Firstly, I murder house plants. The good news for me is that I can grow most of the ones I want outdoors. I have a couple of night blooming jasmine shrubs in my yard. I love them.