Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#371998 Jun 25th, 2013 at 10:44 AM
OP Offline
Hello ya'all! I'm fairly new to gardening and was hoping someone could give me some insite on a couple plants that I've recently planted. I ordered some hibiscus, some red painted daisies, and a red heart rose of Sharon tree from a nursery and they came bare root. I planted them and out of 6 hibiscus, only one is growing some green. Should I just leave them alone or are they more than likely dead? Also, I planted bare root red painted daisies and so far, I've seen no growth or green. Will they eventually grow? All the other plants I've planted bare root are showing great growth. The rose of Sharon tree I planted has no growth either. I peeled away a branch and it's still green inside and I noticed that there are more roots growing, will any of my plants grow? I need help on what going on because those are the 3 plants I wanted the most cry
Thanks, any help would be appreciated! grin

Blondee
Blondee29 #372001 Jun 25th, 2013 at 11:08 AM
A Gnome's Best Friend
30k Posts
A Gnome's Best Friend
30k Posts
Hello Blondee wavy .... Welcome to the forum grin

You made great choices with beautiful blooming plants clap
I love hibiscus my self.
I guess my first question is,, did you dig the holes deep and wide enough and fill in with a rich soil? Rich soil meaning a good organic mix with peat moss maybe even some bone meal?
You have to water it probably daily until it's established then it will take it's own and grow.
It takes time for roots to establish in a new environment and new soil. As long as you see green and the stock isn't soft you should be fine, be patient. Every 3rd watering I would add a some plant food whether it's miracle grow or one of your choice( you can call your local nursery and they will recommend you one as well)
You didn't mention how long ago you planted, weeks or days, so it's hard to say whether they are yet established.