Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
bents Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi all! I'm new here, but I've been gardening for a couple of years here in Los Angeles. I just got engaged last week, and the wedding's going to be November 2 this year. We're trying to put as many personal touches and home-made kinda things as we can in the wedding. I love gardening so I thought I could contribute the flowers.

We love chrysanthemums, and November 2 is also the date of the local Descanso Gardens Chrysanthemum Show, which makes them seem like the perfect flower to grow for the wedding. We'd need 100 or 300 flowers, I'm guessing, in a variety of colors and shapes. We'd also plant other flowers to go with them, but haven't figured out which yet. So it'd be a pretty big area of the backyard lawn to dig up, but I hate lawns and it'd be fun.

Anyway, before I figure out all the details and order a bunch of seeds, I want to make sure that this is a reasonable idea. Is it possible to be pretty sure that my plants will be blooming on or soon before November 2? What are the chances they start blooming late, or die early?

(And do any SoCalifornians have any recommendations for strains for our climate?)

Thanks for any help!
Ben

California Queen
30k Posts
California Queen
30k Posts
Welcome, Bents. And congratulations! When reading about flowers for a certain date like a wedding, I have read that you cannot rely on them blooming. I think you may have to purchase some fill-in ones. But it sure could be fun to try. Find a local small nursery in your area. Ask your questions of what, when, which companions may be blooming on your date. You should be able to come up with some of your flowers though. And that will be a lovely memory.
I am about 60 miles inland from LA. I have lived in LA before and my climate is so much different in the desert. Different planting requirements altogether.
Good luck!

~Tina
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Drama Free Zone.