Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
OP Offline
Hey everyone!

I have zero experience growing anything. I've been doing a little research but I've found mostly the same sort of general guidelines (what pH to use, what temperature will kill it, etc) but not really good instructions for a complete novice. So the first thing I'm here to seek is perhaps an idiots guide to general indoor (inside a home) gardening.

I live in zone 5 (USA) and Miracle Fruit needs zone 10+ so I cannot plant it outside as it is guaranteed to die quickly. It's a small enough plant that I should be able to keep it in a pot in my house by a window. I figure that during the summer when it is warm I can move the plant outdoors (in it's container to avoid shock) as it like warm weather, but keeping it indoors at 60F-65F should keep it healthy enough through the winter, so I think I should be able to do it. But I've not been able to find anything online about people growing them inside their homes yet. I've seen stuff about growing outside in Southern Florida and in some green houses. So does anyone have some information for growing "outdoor" plants inside the home?

In addition, I want to buy an older plant that is already bearing fruit (I understand I'll probably have to wait until April/May so it doesn't freeze on shipping). I'm not allowed to post links but I've found that these places sell them at the age/size I'm looking at and will ship them outside of Southern Florida. I want to know if there are others, or if you guys have any reviews of these places. In addition, before I buy the plant what should I find out about the plant. I have no problem investing a few hundred into it, but I need to make sure I get the most idiot-proofed one possible.

Black River Nursery
Ethan's Garden
Miracle Fruit Express
Miracle Fruit Hut