Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#359228 Aug 3rd, 2012 at 09:58 AM
OP Offline
Hello all! I intend to grow my garden in containers for their foreseeable future. What size would be recommended for each type of plant? *Red Calabash Tomato (2-3 oz.), Red Core Chantenay Carrot (5"-7"), Nevada Lettuce.* These tomatoes say that they are like mini-beefsteaks, so does this mean that the 5-gal. (or more, bigger is better) standard does not necessarily apply? For instance, would say a 3-gal. container work fine without adversely effecting my yield? (I am on a bit of a tight budget and not much space with which to work with, so I am trying to be more money- and space-efficient). Moving forward, I have a pot that is 6" in diameter and 7" deep...this should be OK for the carrots, correct? I was hoping to fit 2 or 3 in one container, if at all possible (which I do not see why not, as long as there is enough room to grow, but I am new to gardening). Also, I have some smaller pots that are 5" in diameter and 4" in depth, would you say that would be sufficient space to grow the lettuce in, or no? I ask because I have read some blogs and other material online that recommend 8" in diameter and 6-8" in depth for lettuce, but I already purchased these (4) smaller ones (before doing my actual gardening research) thinking that I would be able to grow everything in them...silly me! I am just trying to figure out how I can make use of them. I am getting ready, any day now, to order some cilantro seeds along with some other herbs, should I just save these smaller ones for these smaller non-fruit-bearing crops? Any and all help and suggestions are appreciated! Thanks.

New_Gardner #359235 Aug 3rd, 2012 at 12:04 PM
California Queen
30k Posts
California Queen
30k Posts
Welcome, New.