Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#359001 Jul 25th, 2012 at 12:06 AM
OP Offline
Hi All,

This is my first time writing here so here is a blanket apologies for any and every spelling mistake. So now that is that done grin Sorry this is a lot to read or comment on but i appreciate and assistance.

Basically I have moved to Bonn, Germany from Australia and find it extremely hard to constantly pay for veggies when i can (or try to) grow my own. I have picked an extremely ambitious task of growing here because;
a) There is no garden, or no place for a garden
b) The weather is extremely humid and only a couple of months of getting quite cold
c) I am going back to Australia for a month in about 10 days, so i will be very kindly asking my lovely girlfriend to take good care of my little garden (its ok i have the chocolate and roses ready)

My experience in growing vegetables was in 3 large plots last spring/summer at my parents house. Where I had great success with 3 types of tomatoes, 2 types of beetroot, spring Onions, Basil, Coriander, Eggplants, Cucumbers, Chilies, Lettuce, Rocket, Spinach. Beyond my wildest dreams everything survived 15degree lows to 40degree highs. But i had produced really good soil with a tonne of nutrients and they received great water etc...

So here is my first problem with my latest experiment.. The capsicum Plant I brought from a store here was unfortunately neglected for around a week (emergency call to go look after a sick pony) so anyway it lived in the container it came in for around 1 week with only a good soaking in water when i got it and a water before i left. When i returned the leaves were sagging and the fruits that were on there looked like they were dying. I am not interested in saving the fruits that where already established more so trying to lift the health of the plant to make it thrive for a while. There are fresh shoots coming and i would like to give it the best chance of becoming a great little plant.