Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#357518 Jun 4th, 2012 at 09:45 PM
OP Offline
Hey I'm new to gardening and bought this plant a couple of weeks ago, it faces a southerly window, so it doesn't get a huge amount of light

1. Can I/Should I pluck the yellow leaf straight of? or leave it on until it falls of, dies etc.

http://i1054.photobucket.com/albums/s489/thomsa11/54a8183a.jpg

2. Is this the right way or is there a better way of watering it?

http://i1054.photobucket.com/albums/s489/thomsa11/54a8183a.jpg

3. I have only had this plant for 3 weeks, will it be to shocked if i repot it? do i need to repot it?

4. Are these marks made by bugs or some pest that i need to treat the plant for? and if so what should i use?

http://i1054.photobucket.com/albums/s489/thomsa11/1e64cd28.jpg
http://i1054.photobucket.com/albums/s489/thomsa11/6439c8cd.jpg

Thanks!!

thomsa11 #357619 Jun 7th, 2012 at 03:28 AM
1. Cut the yellow leaf off at the soil line. It will never fall off by itself, and it's ugly, so why leave it.
2. I guess you're talking about the water in the clear plastic liner. First, dump it out, then let the plant drain for a few hours - you can leave it in the liner - dump it again, and continue until you have no more than 1/4" water in the liner. Now let the plant's soil dry out - we call it aerating - until the leaves just begin to bend down on their stems. This is how peacelilies tell you they want more water. Water it slowly until you have 1/4" in the bottom of the liner, and she should be good for a week or so. Peacelilies will die if their roots are kept too wet, but they're good plants for beginners, because those bending leaves tell you right away what's going on. You can learn about how the soil should feel by digging up a little with a spoon, and squeezing it between your fingers. Try it when the soil is very wet, like it is now, and a week from now, and when the