Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Ballard Beaver!
5k Posts
OP Offline
Ballard Beaver!
5k Posts
My garden is a mess and I'm broke so I was thinking of buying some seed packets as they are much cheaper than buying plants. My idea is to start them indoors then transplant later. I know I've heard of using egg cartons as seed starters. Has anyone done this? Good idea? Bad idea? Too small? I've never grown completely from scratch before and I don't want to go another year being depressed that my garden looks like crap just because I'm tight on money. Thanks so much!

[Linked Image from agardenersforum.com]

Plant smiles, grow giggles, harvest love.
Daisy
4k Posts
Daisy
4k Posts
alot of people start seeds like that, eagg carton just seems too small to me, you'd have to up the size as soon as it sprouted

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

I try to take one day at a time -- but sometimes several days attack me at once.
-Jennifer Unlimited-
Yard Update -April 2012
I'm just a beginner, but we had great success with starting seeds in cups or in the ground, depending on the plant. I begged and traded for a lot, too. I went to every free garden event I could find, and they often gave out free seeds. Are there local garden clubs or organizations that might have events near you? We have a Master Gardener program with a beautiful set up and they do some nice events. We also have a Native Plant Society and lots of plant-specific clubs. They require membership to join, but they have a few events open to the public where I got some free seeds and plants last year.

Do you have an active Craigslist or Freecycle community in your area? Those can be great resources for free seeds/plants/equipment, too.

I also remember seeing photos from my farmer girlfriend last year starting seeds in plastic milk containers. I'll see if I can find the picture and download it here. Or maybe it's fast to do an internet search: