Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#353883 Feb 20th, 2012 at 04:15 PM
Trost Offline OP
OP Offline
Hello everyone!

Well... I'm a beginner and, as the title implies, I'm clueless about gardening. However, I always had a fascination for it; probably because of my childhood summers were spent watching my grandmother till under the Carolina sun and then helping her pick and prune all the rewards of her efforts. (Blueberries straight off the bush taste like CANDY!) I always wanted to start gardening, but the fear of failing after so much anticipation and hard work kept me from starting.

But that's the past and I'm not going to let the prospect of failure hold me back! However, I would love some advice to get me started, please?

Trost #353887 Feb 20th, 2012 at 06:07 PM
Hi = I am in Northern CA flwr also and this last spring was my first gardening adventure. My advice (as a beginner) is to have fun. Pick out your garden space, see if you can work out a rough plan of what you want to plant and where. Get some seeds or seedlings and give it a try. You can make it as simple or complicated as you want. I did lots of research before I got going. You still have time to do some reading if you want.

I try to read a little every day, in books or on the internet, about what I am growing, or planting or what I can do to make my garden better. thumbup

As you get a plan together, I would post lots of questions here. There are lots of knowledgeable people here in the forum who can help.

Good luck and have fun!
~Beth~

cagardengirl #354129 Feb 26th, 2012 at 04:20 PM
Trost Offline OP
OP Offline
Oh yay! I was wondering when I may run into someone from Norcal. So far I have been having a lot of fun! The plot I picked out is small but just big enough. And boy are you right about the reading! I've been doing so much reading on everything. I even created my own little manual for all the seeds I'm planting so that I can keep track of it all. @_@