Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#342928 Mar 26th, 2011 at 11:46 PM
OP Offline
Hi all! I'm new to the forum. It's nice to have the support of a gardening community! This is my first year planting potatoes. I'm up in Ohio, so I just got them in the ground. I have not been able to find out whether I need to water them in when I plant them. I did not, as the ground seemed fairly moist. Should I though? Any advice? Many thanks!!

wavy
I watered my potatos every day for a week when I first planted them. Now that they are growing well I water them every 3 or 4 days giving them some time to dry out a little in between. This works well for me, but it may be different weather and soil in your area. If your soil was moist and it's not too hot just use your jugement but I would probably water it just a little bit for good measure to start the lil guys off right!
grin

"Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined." -Henry David Thoreau

* Crystal *

I planted potatoes for the first time last year and with great success I might add. I also watered very heavily for the first week (but I did that for the entire garden). Then it was as needed. The local Co-op told me that you don't want them sitting in water, but moist, well drained soil is perfect. Hope this helps.

How do you know it's time to dig them out if they are underground?

Hi there! I am new to this forum as well, and am also a first time potato grower with a question :)

My dad had given me 1/2 his seed potatoes several months ago, which I put in and seem to be doing well. However shortly after that, he went into the hospital and never got his planted. He recently got out and gave me his, as he won't be gardening for a bit, but I am wondering if I should bother at this time of year. They seem to still be plantable, but I live in MA so am not sure if they will even grow? If not, will they keep over the winter to plant in spring?