Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#338951 Jan 9th, 2011 at 05:11 AM
OP Offline
Hi all,

I recently bought a 30+ year old jade plant from a person's house contents sale. The woman said she's often sprayed it for pests over the years.

I do not have ANY previous experience with pests, as I'm fairly new to indoor plants. All i know is from looking at pictures online and doing a bit of reading.

1st:
When examining the leaves, there seem to be a lot of leftover carcasses (they seem dead or non-alive enough) on MANY of the leaves... mostly undersides, but on top as well. They're medium brown mounds, edges flush with the surface of the leaf.

2nd:
I'm getting a very fine cottony layer of white on some of the leaves, near the stem... but i don't see any big mealy bugs crawling around. Where this white cottony layer occurs, the leaf area starts darkening to a grey/purple.

3rd:
Among some of the trunks of my jade plant, and stretching across some nearby branches, are fine webs. If i look VERY closely, i can see tiny white critters nesting in these webs. Are they healthy NORMAL spiders... or evil spider mites, I'm wondering?

I'm attaching pictures that illustrate the 3 items above. Please chime in with your observations and suggestions.

Thank you!

[Linked Image] [Linked Image] [Linked Image] [Linked Image] [Linked Image]

Beginner_Wes #338956 Jan 9th, 2011 at 06:03 AM
California Queen
30k Posts
California Queen
30k Posts
Welcome, Wes.
I think the white powdery stuff is powdery mildew. I would remove each infected leaf as soon as it shows up. And make sure the plant is in a light and airy situation.
I do not know enough about insects to tell you what you may have. Whether they are regular spiders or evil ones they will still travel from place to place carrying that possible mildew to new surfaces.