Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Jaes Offline OP
OP Offline
First, I am new to gardening. ---Last year, I transplanted a bell pepper plant into a large patio pot--- the yeild was great. This year, I used the pot for tomatoes--- and I transplanted two bell peppers into two "topsy turvey" containers. The patio location of the bell peppers is the same sunny location as last year-- the type of bell peppers is the same as last year, BUT, the yeild is dramatically different. Last year, at this time, I had 3 to 5 bell peppers forming on the one plant. This year, I have only one lone pepper hanging from each of the two plants that I used the topsy turvy---there are not blossoms--no other peppers forming---Just one lone pepper on each plant. Is there something I can do to stimulate the pepper plant? Or, despite what the topsy turvy company indicates, maybe one can not grow a pepper plant via the topsey turvy method and expect a high yeild (that's the obvious answer). ---Any answers or advice would be most appriciated. ---Jaes

Jaes
Northern Star
30k Posts
Online Crazy
Northern Star
30k Posts
I really have no great advice for you but I planted two tomatoes in upside down planters and was very disappointed as well. They done so poorly that I just threw out the plants..

Have you fertilized it? Next year I plan to try it again but I will be buying a good fertilized growing mix instead of potting soil.

~~Tam~ You can bury all your troubles by digging in the dirt.
[Linked Image from agardenersforum.com]
[Linked Image from agardenersforum.com]
Patriot
10k Posts
Patriot
10k Posts
Could the weather be a factor? Heat, sun, rain. Where I live it got so hot so fast my garden has been a little off. Water requirements may have been different from last year.

I to, planted tomatoes in a topsy turvy thing last year and didn't have very good results. I didn't do it again this year.

Mister Mystery
1k Posts
Mister Mystery
1k Posts