Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#323353 Jul 2nd, 2010 at 03:47 AM
OP Offline
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Could anyone please help me understand what is wrong with the tomatoes in my garden? I am new to gardening. I used compost( I made it at home) before I planted these plants. The plants which were slow to start were the ones with tomatoes with this defect. Tomatoes of other plants seem to be big and nice. Tomatoes from these plants are small and have this defect at the bottom. Is it due to some insects/bugs?

Last edited by Wild Willy; Jul 2nd, 2010 at 06:37 AM. Reason: Moved to the Tomato Forum
gardenovice #323357 Jul 2nd, 2010 at 06:00 AM
Hot Rod
20k Posts
Hot Rod
20k Posts
Photos need resizing , please.

tomatoes have lots of defects.
Too wet might be one

ouick temperature change
blossom rot

I notice in the stores the same things.

Sorry cant help

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
PS... My horse isn't here, this is my Nitemare..
dodge #323448 Jul 2nd, 2010 at 08:39 PM
blossom end rot .....add potassium ......

dwolf419 #323474 Jul 3rd, 2010 at 06:45 AM
Mister Mystery
1k Posts
Mister Mystery
1k Posts
Could anyone please help me understand what is wrong with the tomatoes in my garden? I am new to gardening. I used compost( I made it at home) before I planted these plants. The plants which were slow to start were the ones with tomatoes with this defect. Tomatoes of other plants seem to be big and nice. Tomatoes from these plants are small and have this defect at the bottom. Is it due to some insects/bugs?

Except for the potassium part, I agree with dwolf419...the problem is Blossom End Rot (BER). It is a result of the lack of calcium in the blossom end of the fruit. See recommendations below. Calcium spray is available in premix solution at garden centers or prepared per instructions below. Do not spray the tomato plants when the temperature is high.

from: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/depts/hort/hil/hil-28-d.html