Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#322861 Jun 27th, 2010 at 05:09 PM
OP Offline

I need help....my garden is empty, I would love a garden that had a sort of flow to it....and looked FULL.... its a big space with little sun, every sun plant I try ends up dying...I'm new to gardening and landscaping, so please be honest..thanks:)

also some pumpkins ended up in the garden, I'm not sure how....but they seem to be doing well....
ps....I also get lots of DEER

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Traci
Miss. Farmer
500 Posts
Miss. Farmer
500 Posts
Looks like a cool space. What's all that behind the garden? And how is this space oriented? N-S-E-W?

I don't often post in this forum, but I think one of the first things I'd want to know, to help you choose your plants, is where the sun is throughout the day.

I'd sure others will be along shortly.

[Linked Image]

"No crime is involved in plagiarizing nature's ways" (Edward H. Faulkner, 1943, "Plowman's Folly," University of Oklahoma Press).
Northern Star
30k Posts
Online Crazy
Northern Star
30k Posts
Hi..

Here's a few links to get you started~you need part shade to shade plants there.

http://www.thegardenhelper.com/ps~perennials.html

http://www.thegardenhelper.com/fs~perennials.html

You'll see a little icon to the right on some of the plants~the deers head with a circle around and a line through..these are plants that deer aren't as likely to eat. thumbup

~~Tam~ You can bury all your troubles by digging in the dirt.
[Linked Image from agardenersforum.com]
OP Offline
the garden is located on a small hill.....as you move away from the garden and go up.....its lots of trees, ferns, and weeds.....don't forget the ticks! About two years ago I weeded, pulled rocks and put new soil down & mulch....to create what you see now... It mostly gets morning sunning, for about 1/3 hours, the tree's hang over the garden...

Traci
Northern Star
30k Posts
Online Crazy
Northern Star
30k Posts