Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
OP Offline
Alright so this may be a dumb question, but since I'm new to vegetable gardens it's one that I need answered. I recently put down some straw on my vegetable garden to help retain some water and all of a sudden I have a ton of spiders. Is this a good thing? I know spiders are good at controlling bugs, but every where I look in the garden there looks to be 4 or 5 of them crawling around. I'd estimate that in my 12x12 garden I probably have at any given time 50-75 spiders crawling around.

That's the part that I'm not super concerned about (or maybe I should be), but at the same time I have a ton of what look to be flies. I see some typical house flies, but then some of the others look much smaller. Maybe they're not mature flies or maybe they're a different kind. Could someone shed some light on this situation for me please? Do I have a problem?

Thanks

500 Posts
500 Posts
Hi Lukkyseven, generally spiders are good to have in your garden, as they eat pests. I treat the spiders with respect, unless of course they are red and black! But we don't get many of those. The little flies could be fruit flies, which are not good. But I am in Oz, so don't know too much about the pests you have over there, or how to treat them. No doubt someone will have some good ideas. Good luck with your garden!

Eternity
Miss. Farmer
500 Posts
Miss. Farmer
500 Posts
A quick yahoo search, "flies in straw" turns up a lot. See for example, this from Illinois Department of public health and there are others.

The first thing I'd ask is what kind of flies they are. The site above should help. Next, what's the source?