Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#277647 Apr 30th, 2009 at 11:50 AM
OP Offline
Alright, so a few of you have helped me out a tremendous amount lately since this is my first year growing vegetables.

It's been established that I probably should have put some extra compost and mulch into my soil before I started planting things this year for a few reasons. One of them is for water retention and the other is for the nutrients needed for my plants to grow.

I've addressed the water retention issue with some newspaper, straw and compost. I realize that in the long run, this will turn into organic matter for my vegetables. My worry is this year.

Would it be a good idea for me to get a liquid fertilizer to help my plants get to the point where they're stronger and can withstand more? Or should I take the approach of just putting more compost around the base of my plants?

If someone could please let me know that would be great! I know you're not supposed to advertise a specific brand on here, but I could always talk to someone about that off of these forums.

Thanks

Lukkyseven #277673 Apr 30th, 2009 at 03:26 PM
California Queen
30k Posts
California Queen
30k Posts
You may talk about specific brands here. Just not put in any links to their websites, etc.
So you can mention Miraclegro or Osmocote, etc. There are some good ferts out there and some organic ones as well.
I should check out your other posts to see what you carved your garden out of. If it was a weed patch and has been laying fallow for a while, it may need less fertilizers than you would think. growing annual weeds is Mother Nature's way of replenishing some of the nutrients to the ground year after year. Next year may be when you need to prepare for most now. The type of fertilizer you are interested in is important too.

~Tina
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Drama Free Zone.
What every gardener loves the most, Begins and ends in rich compost. (Tina)
Tina #277686 Apr 30th, 2009 at 05:59 PM