Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#217956 Jun 23rd, 2008 at 04:32 PM
OP Offline
I am going to plant some fall veggies. I have put anti-germination stuff all over my garden to prevent weeds so I don't think I can successfully direct seed anything for the rest of the year. I need to start carrots, peas, beans, radish, rutabaga, broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, kale, and spinach (I already started greens and scallions in a tray like normal).
The peas and beans can be germinated on wet paper towels I suppose and the brassicas can be started in peat trays but what about carrots, radish and rutabagas? Or any other good ideas for getting this stuff going? It is cool in my basement so it should all germinate there ok.
Also anybody have experience with rutabaga? It is my first time trying them. Any suggestions for any of my fall crops?

OP Offline
Any ideas for germinating root crop seeds?

Official Taste Tester
10k Posts
Official Taste Tester
10k Posts
there isn't any reason that I know of that you can't do the carrots and radishes in trays of peat moss. Then you can transplant them when they are large enough to handle. I've never done rutabaga. Good luck with your veggie garden. I just look out at mine and it is full of weeds. I've got to get out there.

[Linked Image]
tkhooper #219330 Jun 30th, 2008 at 05:49 AM
Northern Star
30k Posts
Online Crazy
Northern Star
30k Posts
Only problem is that root crops don't like having their roots disturbed....you'll have to be really careful.

~~Tam~ You can bury all your troubles by digging in the dirt.
[Linked Image from agardenersforum.com]
[Linked Image from agardenersforum.com]
Sunflowers #219463 Jun 30th, 2008 at 05:37 PM
OP Offline