Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#210998 May 24th, 2008 at 08:13 AM
DaisyM Offline OP
OP Offline
I have some ferns that come up every year under our low light N window, but the soil under the overhang is dry and sifty. I find that the ferns die back before the season is out and was wondering if the dry soil may be the cause. Don't ferns need more of a humus soil or damp soil?
Does anyone know what I can do? Will digging some cow manure into some of the dry leaves I have under there help to put some body and moisture back into this soil. I put some compost into it at one time and it dissappeared and became part of the dry soil so it changed nothing. Help please, need someone's good advice.

I'm no fern expert but what little I've observed is that they do like a "humusy" soil that stays fairly moist all the time but not saturated. Also, the ones I've observed in my sister's yard seem to prefer mottled or filtered light as opposed to 100% or mostly shade.

I'm thinking the dry manure may be too strong for them. I could be wrong. I would do a rich humus and peat moss combo with mostly humus, water, and then cover around them with an organic mulch to help hold in the moisture. And if they're entirely in shade, I would move them somewhere with mottled or filtered light.

Kalar

"Make Known the Unknown."
DaisyM Offline OP
OP Offline
Forgive me, I'm still a novice gardener and have a lot to learn. Is humus the same as compost?

Last edited by DaisyM; May 25th, 2008 at 12:11 PM.
Originally Posted by DaisyM
Forgive me, I'm still a novice gardener and have a lot to learn. Is humus the same as compost?

After reseaching the question a little there seems to be many schools of thought on the difference(s) between compost and humus.