Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
OP Offline
Hello all! My fianc� and I just moved into a beautiful new house bop! The previous owner did a wonderful job with planting and gardening. However, there is one spot in front of the house (see pics) that is rather bare. Because it is in the front of the house I would like something "eye catching" and appealing with lots of year-round color. Not sure if I want many things that are tall but if it helps in creating atmosphere and appeal then I'm all ears!

I'm pretty new to all this so if you could provide me with pictures or visual examples I would GREATLY appreciate it!

Thanks in advance,

flwr Meshella

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Little Sprout
5k Posts
Little Sprout
5k Posts
Hmm... i'm not sure exactly what USDA zone you're in, or what types of flowers you prefer, but might i suggest somethings that bloom in the fall, some that bloom early spring, but stay green all summer... I'm not sure how much sun in blocked by that tree either.
Another thingi would suggest is to be very cautious with how tall the plants you choose are. I'd expect some smalller, lower to the ground plants, as to not 'overcrowd' the area, or take away from the tree in the middle, and turn it into a jungle. simple flowers that are common in your area, spread nicely, almost pattern-like or symmetric, would look great thumbup

I'm sure you'll also get a bunch of other opinions soon, too, so don't go by eerything i said lol :wink: kissie

best of luck!

--Mark--

[Linked Image from agardenersforum.com]

THE SPROUT IS BACK!
Official Taste Tester
10k Posts
Official Taste Tester
10k Posts
I just had a thought. That area maybe a bulb bed and you have just missed all the flowers because it is so late in the season and has been such a strange season to begin with. I can't think why else it would look the way it does if you say the previous owners were gardeners. But if not then here are some suggestions.