Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#125827 Sep 7th, 2007 at 07:53 PM
OP Offline
Hi! I am somewhat still of a novice here. Today my daughter and I found a (what we think is)swallowtail butterfly caterpillar. My husband says they feed on milkweed.

My question is can we put milkweed in and among our butterfly bushes?

We would love to encourage more butterfly caterpillars in our garden. This summer we had hummingbirds eat at our butterfly bushes and the prettiest butterflies.

Carla
Zone 6a
WildRedRidingHood
4k Posts
WildRedRidingHood
4k Posts
The monarch butterfly caterpillar is the one that only feeds on milkweed. Yes, you can and should plant some milkweed. I would keep it in a area away from your main gardens as it can be unsightly and tends to get aphids. The world definitely needs to keep milkweed for sure.

The black swallowtail caterpillar feeds only on members of the carrot family such as dill, parsley, and Queen Anne's lace.

The larvae of the Eastern Tiger Swallowtail feed mostly on Wild Cherry and Tulip Tree.

Many butterfly larvae eat specific foods. To me, it's important for a good butterfly garden to have food for the caterpillar as well as the butterfly.

[Linked Image]
melcon6 #126045 Sep 8th, 2007 at 06:53 AM
OP Offline
I am going to take a picture of the caterpillar later today and post it. I am almost certain that it is a tiger swallowtail. The caterpillar is striped with thin stripes of white, yellow and black.

Carla
Zone 6a
OP Offline
PS, LOL - We have had all sorts of butterflies at my bushes this year

Carla
Zone 6a
WildRedRidingHood
4k Posts
WildRedRidingHood
4k Posts
Cool, I would love to see a picture.

[Linked Image]
melcon6 #126312 Sep 8th, 2007 at 05:25 PM
OP Offline
I regretfully have to say that I was too late. By the time I got home from my meeting it had made a pupa. I am so sorry! I was looking forward to seeing what it was.

Carla
Zone 6a
WildRedRidingHood
4k Posts
WildRedRidingHood
4k Posts