Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#109271 Aug 13th, 2007 at 04:51 PM
OP Offline
I have a Jade plant as a gift. I have it on a screened in porch. Gets morning to mid-morning sun. Started off watering once a week. Did great bop
Several central florida storms soaked the Jade blowing in. Jade still looked o.k....But then touched why badday.....
I was given a home made bug spray recipe f 1 gal of water 1 cup dish soap and 1 cup cooking oil....I know...I know..What was I gonna do? I'm new at this...
I sprayed all my plants(Jade,Hanging Moss,Spider plant,and Basil)...fried averything to a crisp..Jade lost many leaves, hanging moss lost all leaves...I think I'm gonna be sick boohoo badday
The Jade is back to dessert dry and the hanging moss is almost dry again. Can I get some sound advice on salvage or salvation ?
One more quickie...If I water my Spider Plant until it seeps out the weep hole, how many times a week should I water it?
Thank You All

Last edited by randymanorlando; Aug 13th, 2007 at 05:05 PM.
#109691 Aug 14th, 2007 at 07:34 AM
OP Offline
Thank you afgreyparrot. The links you provivded are invaluable and answered just about every question I had. You may not know much about Jade, but you sure know how to find the answers. The part about letting the cuttings or leaves calous over ; I never would have figured that out on my own.
I need to ask all what kind of sand do I use to mix with my potting soil? Specific kind or treated sand or just run of the mill kind?
Thank you again afgreyparrot for your time and consideration.
randymanorlando

500 Posts
500 Posts
I used to live in Orlando, it gets wicked humid there in the summer. Therefore, how often you water your spider will depend on lots of environmental conditions, including what size and type of pot its in. Water it when it's dry to around your second nuckle. Twice a week in winter? Once a month in parts of the summer? When its dry. Spiders are forgiving, I'm finding out.