Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
1k Posts
OP Offline
1k Posts
my corn plants are supposed to be seven feet tall but they grew to three feet tall and began tasseling.What's wrong?

How often do I water and fertilize corn?

How often do I fertilize and water cukes,squash,and tomatoes?

Waiting for fall...
My corn is doing the same thing. Hubby thinks it's because I didn't thin it enough. Which is entirely possible! LOL Also there are certian sections of my garden that don't get as much water when we water....those that don't get as much water are much smaller too. I don't know how much these things have to do with the stunted growth of the corn as this is my first year with a garden, but I know that I will be changing some things next year to see if something works better!

1k Posts
OP Offline
1k Posts
I found out how often to fertilize my plants.

Waiting for fall...
Corn likes a lot of water and heat. It definitely doesn't get that tall if not watered enough. But if it is tasseling it can't be that ill. Maybe it will make ears even though not as tall.
Most veggies as a rule of thumb want a good fertilizing when planted or just when emerging then a good fertilizing when flowering/tasseling. Corn can take a lot of water but all plants like a deeper soaking every 3 days or so in my opinion. That is what I am doing with my corn. Also I am using a foliar fertilizer spray this year called Sea Rich. It stinks really bad but gives some needed nutrition for the stress times of the plants.

I water my garden every morning very early and fertilize the corn about three times total.

Last edited by Spearo; Oct 17th, 2008 at 07:23 PM.
1k Posts
OP Offline
1k Posts
The corn that was too short produced one good ear.Pollination was much better than the year before.

Waiting for fall...