Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#316502 May 5th, 2010 at 03:00 PM
Ivy516 Offline OP
OP Offline

Hi Gardeners.

I'm Michelle, and I've posted here a few times, and read a lot of your posts and looked at everyone's beautiful pictures. I've been gardening for two years now, and I think I might be getting the hang of it. I live in Northern NJ.

After a few failures, a few successes, and lots of time spent watching the pattern of light as it changes throughout the day in different places in my yard, I think I've finally found a spot to plant the little garden of my dreams - a cutting garden! Hurray!

My son's preschool had a native plant sale supplied by a really nice area nursery, and I bought some "deer resistant" plants (deer, rabbits, and groundhogs are a problem for me):

Bee balm (monarda didyma)--a bright red one
Echinacea (I can't remember the variety name, but it's one whose petals stay out rigid rather than drooping)
Gaillardia amber wheels (someone here recommended Gaillardia as pest resistant. I wish I could remember who you were, but I send you my thanks! They are beautiful flowers and nothing eats them).

I also have the following plants to move from other parts of my yard. I have to move them b/c they are not getting enough sun right now:

Lavender
Threadleaf Coreopsis (also called tickseed)
Sea holly (this one I am worried about moving, as I read it forms a tap root, but it flops after flowering where it is, so I think I have to move it).
Gaillardia goblin (This variety is lower growing than amber wheels. I will divide the two plants I have that are thriving).
Veronica (this poor plant might be dead. Two little sprouts came up this spring, so I dug them up along with the roots and put them in a pot on my sunny deck. Hopefully I can save her, cause boy was she pretty).

Now for my question. Sorry for such a long post!